Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav in India's squad for West Indies series

Posted June 16, 2017

The two were part of the five players kept on standby should there be need for an injury replacement.

With the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 underway, the Board of Control for Cricket in India have announced the 15 man squad for the tour to West Indies which will begin on June 23, 2017.

Youngsters Rishabh Pant and Kuldeep Yadav have been included while Jasprit Bumrah and Rohit Sharma, who are now playing in Champions Trophy in England are omitted. It had emerged that Virat Kohli and a few senior players were not happy with Kumble, which has necessitated the process.

More news: Ron DeSantis describes 'strange encounter' with man before congressional baseball shooting

Interestingly, India's opener Rohit Sharma, who made a comeback to global cricket in the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy 2017 after a long break, has not been included in the squad.

The 19-year-old Pant impressed in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 for Delhi Daredevils.

The other significant development is that Anil Kumble has agreed to go to the West Indies. While Rishabh Pant is expected to open the innings alongside Dhawan.

More news: Mattis: Trump has delegated decisions on Afghan troop levels

India's support staff will be the same for the West Indies tour, the BCCI statement said. The tournament will end on the 18th and they will fly to the West Indies after it.

Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav, who's crucial scalps helped India win the series-clinching Test against Australia in Dharamsala, will be the third spinner in the side with Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. The fast bowling unit looks solid with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, and Mohammed Shami, with Pandya providing backup.

More news: Terrorists attack security forces at six places in Kashmir valley with grenades