Voting in presidential election ends

Posted July 17, 2017

A majority of the MPs and MLAs who will vote in next week's presidential polls are crorepatis, accounting for 75 per cent of the total votes, says a report.

Similarly, EC has permitted five legislators to exercise their right to vote in Parliament and four legislators to vote in other state assemblies.

Out of the 288 legislators, two members of NCP - Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam - are now lodged in jail.

PMK youth wing leader Anbumani Ramadoss will be boycotting the presidential elections since the BJP had failed to meet the PMK's demand for a promise to constitute the Cauvery Management Board within one month for extending support to Kovind.

The JD (S) has made a decision to support joint Opposition candidate, Meira Kumar.

More news: United States denies visas to Russian replacements for expelled diplomats - Moscow

There are two candidates in the fray for the coveted post - National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition's candidate Meira Kumar. President Pranab Mukherjee's tenure ends on July 24.

When asked if DMK chief M Karunanidhi will cast his vote, the party's deputy leader in the assembly, Duraimurugan, told reporters: "Please wait and see till 5 pm".

The meetings have been convened to educate MLAs on casting their votes in the elections. The coloured papers will help determine the vote count based on value - the value of an MLA's vote depends on the population of the state they represent, while the value of an MP remains unchanged, which is 708.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal led his the AAP lawmakers to vote.

"Kovindji will win with a comfortable and respectable margin", Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu said before voting.

More news: JIT Report 'Bundle of Baseless Allegations', says Pak PM Nawaz Sharif

If elected, Kovind will be the second Dalit President of India.

Two ballot boxes along with ballot papers in two colours arrived in Bengaluru at the Vidhana Soudha on Sunday from Delhi. There are 126 MLAs in the State, 14 Lok Sabha MPs and seven Rajya Sabha MPs.

Apart from the state MLAs, an MLA from Kerala also voted in Chennai.

The numbers, however, are reported to be in Kovind's favour. The total strength of Electoral college is 10,98,903 votes.

More news: Second Marine identified in plane crash