India Thrash Windies by Nine Wickets, Clinch Series 3-1

Posted November 02, 2018

In October it was the West Indies, who despite a show of promise in the first three ODIs, succumbed to a 3-1 defeat.

India 105/1 beat West Indies by 9 wickets to win series 3-1: When Windies skipper Jason Holder won the toss and elected to bat first in the 5th and final one-day worldwide in Thiruvananthapuram on Thursday he wouldn't have imagined that they would bundle out at the all-time lowest total against the Men in Blue.

The team that could have become the first to deny India a series at home have given a great account of themselves.

The visitors, who chose to bat first in Thiruvananthapuram, lasted just 31.5 overs as they were rolled over for 104, beating their previous worst score against India - 121 at Port of Spain in 1997.

"To get runs as captain always gives me confidence". "He just told me to go out and play bindaas (carefree series) cricket". I told myself: "I want to be like him.' The way he carries himself, his simplicity, grace, he's achieved so much, but is so down to earth", he says.

More news: India unveils world's tallest statue "Statue of Unity"

Fall of wkts: 1-1, 2-2, 3-36, 4-53, 5-57, 6-66, 7-87, 8-94, 9-103.

The two sides will next contest a three-match T20 series, starting at Kolkata's Eden Gardens on Sunday.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (w), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, K Khaleel Ahmed, Jasprit Bumrah.

Kohli emerged as the highest ODI run-scorer in the calendar year of 2018, with 1202 runs from 14 matches at an astounding average of 133.55.

BOWLING: Roach 5-2-13-0; Thomas 4-0-33-1 (1nb, 1w); Paul 2-0-22-0; Holder 1-0-15-0; Bishoo 1.5-0-16-0; Allen 1-0-5-0.

More news: Gerrard takes full responsibility for Rangers semi-final loss to Aberdeen

TV UMPIRE: I.J. Gould (England). The next best is England, who have won 17 out of their 24 matches, with 73.91 per cent success rate.

Virat Kohli congratulated Indian team and his boys to win the series.

FIRST MATCH: Guwahati, India won by eight wickets.

Rohit-led India defeated Hong Kong by 26 runs after coming considerably close to suffering an embarrassment.

SECOND MATCH: Visakhapatnam, match tied.

More news: Xander Schauffele wins play-off to claim WGC-HSBC Champions