Aust women take bronze at Dubai Sevens

Posted December 02, 2018

It was at the 2015 Dubai Sevens where the usa rugby sevens team scored its historic first-ever win over New Zealand, but an even more historic cup final win was not to be on Saturday as the Eagles fell to the All Blacks 21-5. The top four teams at the end of the World Series season will automatically qualify for the 2020 Olympic Summer Games in Tokyo.

United States of America beat Australia 22-17, while New Zealand edged out England 7-5 in the Cup semis.

Canada advanced to the final with a 15-10 victory over Australia in the semifinals with Caroline Crossley of Victoria tearing off a near field-length run before passing off to Britt Benn for an opening try that got Canada's motors revving.

More news: Deutsche Bank premises raided in Germany amid money laundering probe

They had previously beaten Fiji 38-7 and Spain 29-7, and will now play Ireland in the quarter-final.

"Probably the biggest thing today with Maurice was defensively, he's really turned the corner as a professional player", Walsh said.

According to the latest rankings, the Simbas, who occupied position 28 prior to the three-week 2019 World Cup qualifier in France, have plummeted further from position 30 to 32. We really pushed on from games one and two, where we went up against some of the best in the world and came out with some positives. Their next tournament is in February in Sydney. That will be followed by the Japan Sevens from April 20-21 in Kitakyushu, Canada Sevens from May 11-12 at Westhills Stadium and Paris Sevens from June 7-9.

More news: Iraq's production ramp-up could foil Opec's push for curbs

Britt Benn and Kaili Lukan then scored their second tries of the day in a 21-14 win over France that gave the Canadians first place in Pool C. Connor Braid then closed out the scoring for Canada. Canada is captained by former University of Victoria Vikes great Nathan Hirayama.

New Zealand won the first stage of the World Series in Colorado last month, and are now unbeaten in 36 consecutive matches.

The Cheetahs, as the national Sevens side is affectionately known, took part in the Dubai Sevens which is the opening leg of the 2018/19 World Rugby Sevens Series on an invitation as reward for winning the Africa Cup title in November.

More news: Hearty handshake between Putin and Saudi crown prince goes viral