1st-year starting QB will win Heisman

Posted December 09, 2018

Murray didn't go home empty-handed either.

Winning both the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards is an encouraging sign for Tagovailoa.

The Crimson Tide quarterback and fellow Heisman Trophy finalists Kyler Murray of Oklahoma and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State were on Wall Street on Friday to ring the closing bell on a day the Dow Jones Industrial Average closed down 558 points. McCarron was the last Maxwell Award victor to not win the Heisman. The past five winners of the Walter Camp Award won the Heisman, while the past four Maxwell winners did the same. His 4,527 yards of total offense are more than 68 of the country's other 129 teams, including six squads that are ranked in the AP Top 25 Poll.

More news: Man Suffering from Heart Failure Coughs Out Part of His Lung

Next season, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Georgia quarterback Jake Fromm could reasonably compete with Tagovailoa for college football's most coveted award.

Murray, who batted.296 with 10 home runs and 13 doubles in 50 games as the Sooners' center fielder, signed for almost $5 million, with the A's agreeing to let him return to school and play football this season.

In a normal year, he'd be a shoo-in for the award.

More news: USPS limiting service Wednesday to mourn George HW Bush

Kyler Murray's football career should be winding down over the next month as the Oklahoma Sooners quarterback is expected to join the Oakland Athletics in spring training in 2019.

"It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it", Murray said. For the first time since 2008, when Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, Texas' Colt McCoy and Florida's Tim Tebow were the Heisman finalists, only quarterbacks were invited to NY for the trophy presentation.

Haskins set several Big Ten records this season as he passed for over 4,500 yards and threw for 47 touchdowns.

More news: Trump calls for his ex-lawyer Michael Cohen to be jailed

Regardless of whether Tagovailoa wins this year's trophy or not, it's impossible to imagine he won't be the favorite next season as well.